United Arab Emirates

Back to GCC Countries
Setting the pace toward greater prosperity

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates, which include Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras al Khaimah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain and Ajman, and its territory spans some 83,600 sq. km.

Located at the eastern end of the Arabian Peninsula, the UAE shares GCC-member state borders with Oman, Saudi Arabia and Qatar. Its capital is Abu Dhabi, while Dubai, the UAE's most populous city, is an international hub. Its 2020 population has been set at 9,890,400.

The United Arab Emirates is an elective monarchy, with the ruler of Abu Dhabi also the president of the UAE; the ruler of Dubai is prime minister. At present, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, presides over the UAE government. Abu Dhabi and Dubai are the most prosperous of the seven emirates and, to a large extent, set the UAE's foreign and economic policy.

The Emirates' currency is the UAE dirham, and its business languages include Arabic and English. As the world's eighth largest oil producer, the UAE has an open economy with a high per capita income.

Macroeconomic Indicators