Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Back to GCC Countries
Architecting a grand vision of the future

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), is the region's largest Arab nation, covering about 80 per cent of the Arabian Peninsula, and bordering Jordan, Iraq, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Yemen. Its 2020 population was set at around 35 million inhabitants

The Kingdom's vast area covers some 2.15 million sq. km, with its terrain characterized by desert, lowland, steppe and mountains. Its capital and largest city is Riyadh, which is also the headquarters of the Gulf Cooperation Council. Meanwhile, Saudi Arabia is home to Mecca and Medina, the two holiest cities in Islam.

KSA is an absolute monarchy, presently ruled over by King Salman bin Abdulaziz. The Kingdom's wealth is predominantly oil-based, and it is a founder and key member of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), and a member of the G20 Group. Its currency is the Saudi Rial.

Macroeconomic Indicators